向善采购

与供应商负责任地合作

拥抱自然从我们的天然供应链开始,多年来,我们始终与最值得信赖的供应商一起积极地践行负责任采购。


负责任采购一直是所有芬美意采购人员的关键要求。 在过去的五年里,我们制定了专门的计划,推动我们以及我们的天然香原料供应商履行对负责任采购的承诺。 因此,我们改变了我们的管理方式,成立了一个新的端到端负责任采购指导委员会,由我们的首席采购官发起,由我们的首席可持续发展官负责协调。


我们与我们的天然原料供应商密切合作,研究如何更好地尊重自然;我们新的责任采购政策提供了保护生物多样性的指导框架。 该政策还指导我们如何与负责实地审核生物多样性风险的生物贸易伦理联盟建立伙伴关系,从而构建生物多样性管理体系。

背负一袋花的微笑男士


与我们的供应商一起开展特定项目,致力于恢复生物多样性。 例如,我们共同投资了促进危地马拉森林恢复和印度茉莉花小种植园主复兴农业实践的计划。

 

查看我们的负责任采购政策

 

UEBT会员

我们在2014年通过位于格拉斯的天然原料卓越中心成为首个加入UEBT的香精香料公司。 我们正在扩大与UEBT的合作,以加强我们在天然价值链中的采购,以及在获取和惠益分享(ABS)实施方面的合作。
我们的生物多样性策略及合规总监是UEBT董事会成员。

了解有关我们的ABS尽职调查的更多信息 了解有关我们的ABS尽职调查的更多信息
生物贸易伦理联盟徽标

负责任采购棕榈油

根据我们对负责任采购棕榈油的承诺,我们通过负责任的采购政策以及协同利益相关者进行的可追溯性管理,不断促进可持续性发展。 我们承诺只采购经RSPO认证的棕榈原油和棕榈原油衍生物材料,并对我们在瑞士日内瓦的食用及日化香精工厂进行RSPO质量平衡(MB)认证 - 这是芬美意首个在2020年6月获得认证的工厂,而所有这些措施都进一步增强了我们负责任采购棕榈油的能力。 点此查看我们的棕榈油声明。

我们的棕榈油声明

棕榈树

案例研究

“印度花卉宝石”计划

在印度泰米尔纳德邦地区,我们正与一家奢侈品牌以及我们的合资伙伴Jasmine Concrete合作开展一项创新的花卉种植项目 - “印度花卉宝石”计划 。 100多个家庭农场受益于我们在土壤修复、供水管理和其他可持续耕作模式的投资,以提高收入和产品质量 – 创造一个可持续发展的农业模式,福泽后辈。

Placeholder

关于生物多样性的集体行动

自2011年以来,我们已投资了三个民生基金。 作为民生碳基金的创始成员,我们与合作伙伴共同通过植树造林项目种植了1.5亿棵树,帮助100万人摆脱了贫困。 点击此处可通过播客收听民生故事,以及了解更多信息。

民生基金徽标

我们是“为了同一个地球,企业助力生物多样性”(OP2B)联盟的创始会员。该联盟由19家志同道合的领先企业创立,致力于恢复生物多样性,在整条供应链和产品组合中推动农业复兴。 OP2B发出强烈的呼声和提出伟大的使命:鼓励旨在改变当前粮食和农业系统的政策倡议,以更好地保护和恢复生物多样性。 点击此处可了解更多信息。

Placeholder

芬美意在SBT for Nature工作组中发挥着积极作用

为设定此类目标做出了贡献。

树干上的手

2020年7月,我们加入了Call to Action(行动呼吁),呼吁各国政府

紧急采取政策,在这十年内扭转自然物种流失严重的现象。

点击此处了解更多信息。

Placeholder

芬美意是名古屋协定副主席和负责任采购特别工作组的成员。

我们贡献专业知识,并在行业层面倡导经过加强的通用标准。

Placeholder

恢复自然资源和土壤的平衡

自然资源是包括土壤在内的平衡生态系统的一部分。 当你从大自然中获取资源时,你可能会破坏这种平衡。 因此我们致力于采取行动和实践来恢复这种自然平衡。 我们以UEBT和OP2B的活跃成员以及商业自然联盟行动呼吁签署人的身份通过具体的实地项目来实现这一目标。

Hand and small plan in the ground


通过民生基金,我们与合作伙伴Nelixia,一家名为Fundaeco的当地非政府组织以及玛雅人社区密切合作,在危地马拉的塞罗圣吉尔地区成功地实施了植树造林和社区支持项目。

协助保护森林

约有十亿人依靠森林为生。 这些自然生态系统还有助于稳定气候,支持生物多样性,是重要药物的来源 – 但同时也受到严重威胁,全球森林覆盖率已减少30%,还有20%出现退化。


芬美意致力于帮助保护森林,我们的举措包括:


- 我们的风险管理工具考虑到了我们行业所面临的森林砍伐威胁,并帮助我们发现潜在的问题。


- 使用 全球森林观察 等开放数据工具,帮助企业和非政府组织以动态 "实时 "的方式监测森林砍伐情况。


- 我们鼓励供应商积极参与《CDP森林信息披露调查》,以了解和解决我们供应链中的任何风险和问题,并确定如何整改。

俯瞰森林

拥抱自然

大自然赋予我们一切。 它激发了我们的创造力,为我们提供了宝贵的香原料,并推动我们进行创新。


查看更多
可持续发展

Sourcing for Good

Working responsibly with suppliers

Respecting Nature starts in our natural supply chain and we have been introducing positive practices with our most trusted suppliers for many years.

 

Sourcing responsibly has always been a critical element for all Firmenich buyers. In the past five years, we have created specialized programs to strengthen our responsible sourcing commitment, including with our natural ingredients suppliers. As a result, we have transformed our governance with the launch of a new end-to-end Responsible Sourcing Steering Committee, sponsored by our Chief Purchasing Officer and coordinated by our Chief Sustainability Officer.

 

We work closely with our natural raw materials suppliers on how to best respect nature; and  our new Responsible Sourcing Policy provides  a guidance framework  on biodiversity protection. The policy also guides how we structure our biodiversity management through our partnership with the Union for Ethical BioTrade, which audits biodiversity risks at field level.

Smiling men with a bag of flowers

 

Together with our suppliers on specific projects, we drive biodiversity regeneration. For instance, we co-invested in programs promoting forest restoration in Guatemala and regenerative agriculture practices for jasmine smallholders in India.

 

Read our Responsible Sourcing Policy

 

UEBT Membership

We were the first Fragrance & Flavors company to join UEBT in 2014 via our Center of Excellence on Naturals in Grasse. We are scaling up our collaboration with UEBT to reinforce our sourcing in natural value chains and on Access and Benefit Sharing (ABS) implementation. 
Our Director of Biodiversity Strategy and Compliance is a member of the UEBT Board of Directors.

Learn more about our ABS due diligence
Union for Ethical Biotrade logo

Responsible palm oil

In line with our commitments on palm oil, we are continuously promoting sustainability – via our responsible sourcing policy and our work on traceability with stakeholders. This is reinforced by our commitment to only source RSPO-certified materials for direct palm oil and direct palm oil derivatives, and the RSPO Mass Balance (MB) certification of our Flavors and Perfumery plants in Geneva, Switzerland  - the first Firmenich site to become certified in June 2020. Read our Palm Oil Statement here.

Our Palm Oil Statement

Palm tree

CASE STUDY

Flower Gems of India

In the Tamil Nadu region of India, we are working with a luxury brand and our joint venture partner, Jasmine Concrete, on an innovative flower farming project, Flower Gems of India. More than 100 family-owned farms are benefiting from our investment in soil restoration, water supply management and other best practices to improve incomes and product quality – creating a sustainable farming model that can serve future generations.

Placeholder

Collective action on biodiversity

Since 2011, we have invested in the three Livelihoods Funds. As a founding member of the Livelihoods carbon funds, we contributed reforestation projects with our partners by planting 150 million trees and helping 1 million people climb out of poverty. Listen to the Livelihoods story in this podcast and find out more here

Livelihoods Funds logo

As one of the 19 founding members of One Business for Biodiversity (OP2B), a global coalition of like-minded companies committed to restoring biodiversity, we contribute to regeneration in agriculture across our supply chain and product portfolios. OP2B has a strong voice and mission: to encourage policy initiatives that transform current food and agriculture systems to better protect and restore biodiversity. Find out more here.

Placeholder

Firmenich is playing an active role in the SBT for Nature working group

to contribute to setting such targets. 

hands on tree trunk

In July 2020, we joined the Call to Action calling on governments to

urgently adopt policies to reverse nature loss in this decade.

Find out more here.

Placeholder

Firmenich is a member of the biodiversity and responsible task force.

We contribute expertise and advocate reinforced common standards at industry level. 

Placeholder

Regenerating nature's resources and soil

Natural resources are part of balanced ecosystems including soils. When you source from nature you might upset this balance. This is why we are committed to actions and practices that regenerate this natural balance. We do so via concrete field projects driven by our active memberships with UEBT and OP2B and as a signatory to the Call to Action from Business for Nature.

Hand and small plan in the ground

 

Through the Livelihoods Funds, we have run a successful reforestation and community support project in the Cerro San Gil region of Guatemala, working closely with our partner Nelixia, a local NGO called Fundaeco, and native Mayan communities.

Helping preserve forests

Approximately one billion people rely on forests for their livelihoods. These natural ecosystems also help stabilize the climate, support biodiversity and are a source of vital medicines – while being under severe threat with 30% of original global forest cover cleared and 20% degraded.

 

Firmenich is committed to help preserve forests and our initiatives include: 


-    Our risk management tool takes into consideration deforestation threats faced by our industry and helps us identify potential issues

 
-    Using open data tools such as Global Forest Watch, which helps businesses and NGOs to monitor deforestation in a dynamic ‘real time’ way


-    We encourage suppliers to respond to the CDP Forest Disclosure Survey in order to understand and address any risks and gaps in our supply chain and determine corrective actions.
 

Trees from above

Respecting Nature

Nature gives us everything. It inspires our creations, supplies us with precious ingredients and drives our innovation. 

 

Read more
Company