神经生物学

Jessica

 

“我一直好奇人类是如何感知和觉察环境中的事物,以及不同人的感知会有怎样的不同。原来人类是通过一组高级感觉系统解读大脑中的关键信息的,当我了解到这一点后,我决定成为一名神经生物学家。而且我还研究了嗅觉系统是如何通过鼻子中的受体来察觉和解析复杂气味的。

Jessica

 

我很想知道大脑是如何工作以控制我们个人的反应和偏好,以及为什么大脑只关注某些类型的信息而不关注其他类型的信息。比如,你可以感觉到良好的触感,但通常不会自觉地意识到自己所穿的衣物。当你觉得自己是地球上唯一拥有这种特殊认知以及与他人分享该信息可以提高整个人类的认知能力的人时,这种发现新事物的快乐让我充满动力。我记得在一次大型国际会议上我做的第一次科学演讲,当时引起了同行们的强烈兴趣,他们热烈讨论并提供建设性的反馈意见,那个时刻,最令我鼓舞。因此我最喜欢的经历是科学的合作性:芬美意是一家跨国企业,我真的很喜欢与世界各地的科学家合作并向他们学习。

 

在芬美意,我最喜欢的事情是将实验室知识和科研成果转变为对消费者有意义和有影响力的产品。我与多个学科的科研人员合作,将我们最好的新技术带给客户和消费者。”

Jessica的同事

 

认识一下其他像Jessica这样的研究人员,了解他们如何致力于科研向善。

 

认识其他的芬美意科学家 认识其他的芬美意科学家
Placeholder
公司

Neurobiology

Meet Jessica

 

"I’ve always been fascinated by how we perceive and detect items in our environment, and how perception varies across different people. We encode salient information in the brain using highly specialized sensory systems, and when I learned about this I decided to become a neurobiologist. In particular, I study how our olfactory system detects and encodes complex odors using receptors found in the nose.

Jessica

 

I am interested in how the brain mechanistically works, what governs our individual responses and preferences, and why our brain pays attention to certain types of information instead of others. For example, you can perceive fine touch but are not typically consciously aware of the clothing you wear. The thrill of discovery – that moment when you suspect you are the only person on Earth who has this particular insight – and the ability to share that information with others to deepen our collective understanding, motivates me. I remember my first scientific presentation at a large international conference, when my work was greeted with interest, enthusiasm, and constructive feedback from my colleagues. That was inspirational, hence my favorite experience is the collaborative nature of science: it’s an international enterprise, and I truly enjoy working with and learning from scientists around the world.

 

My favorite thing about Firmenich is the ability to translate laboratory knowledge and scientific excellence into meaningful and impactful products for consumers. I collaborate with such a diverse array of scientific disciplines and skill sets to bring the best of our new technologies to our clients and consumers."

Meet Jessica's colleagues

 

Meet other researchers like Jessica and hear about their dedication to science for good.

 

Meet our other scientists
Placeholder
Company