有机化学

Joseph

 

“我出生在喀麦隆,获得化学硕士学位后,移居德国,在那里获得了有机化学博士学位,随后在美国斯克里普斯研究所(Scripps Research Institute)获得了博士后学位,曾与一位诺贝尔化学奖获得者共事。我的第一份工作是2008年在Senomyx公司从事科研工作,这家公司后来在2018年被芬美意收购。

Joseph

 

目前,我正在研究感觉受体感知和响应各种刺激的机理,并利用这些知识来识别具有特异性感觉特征的广受欢迎的分子。

 

我一直痴迷于发现新事物。而科学总是令人兴奋,真是难以置信。我们开发的几种产品已经投放市场,增强了许多消费者产品的生命力,而作为主要贡献者,这让我非常有动力和成就感。能设计和创造出有特性的分子实在让人太兴奋了。

 

大自然的语言是很难理解的,但是当你突破这个语言障碍时,就会获得无限可能。当我能够从大自然创造的不为人知的美丽事物中识别出玄机,这便是最让我激动的时刻。我最喜欢的是芬美意的文化,它在发展进程中始终以人为本。当今,这个社会普遍缺乏多样性,我非常希望芬美意能够做好示范,建立一个能够充分体现社会多样性的工作场所。”

Joseph的同事

 

认识一下其他像Joseph这样的研究人员,了解他们如何致力于科研向善。

 

认识其他的芬美意科学家
Placeholder
公司

Organic Chemistry

Meet Joseph

 

"I was born in Cameroon and after my Master’s Degree in Chemistry I moved to Germany to complete a PhD in Organic Chemistry, followed by a Postdoc at the Scripps Research Institute in the United States, working with a Chemistry Nobel Prize laureate. I took on my first job as a Scientist at Senomyx in 2008, which was acquired by Firmenich in 2018.

Joseph

 

Today, I am striving to understand how sensory receptors detect and respond to various stimuli and use that knowledge to identify sought-after molecules with uniquely differentiating sensory characteristics.

 

I have always been obsessed about bringing new things to light. Our science is unbelievably exciting. As a key contributor to the discovery of several products delivered to market, I continue to be energized and fulfilled by the fact that we are enhancing the life of so many. To design and create molecules with specific properties is beyond exciting.

 

It’s hard to understand the language of nature but when you break through the language barrier, you are presented with a world of possibilities. My most inspirational moments are when I am able to identify the best out of the beautiful things nature created and hid from us.  And my favorite thing here is the culture, which puts human capital at the center of the company’s journey. At a time where the lack of diversity in all critical constructs of our society has become undeniable, I have high hopes that Firmenich will lead the way to building a workplace that reflects the diversity in our society."

Meet Joseph's colleagues

 

Meet other researchers like Joseph and hear about their dedication to science for good.

 

Meet our other scientists
Placeholder
company