生物技术

Kerstin

“我是一名生物技术人员,我的工作是利用酶进行化学反应。加入芬美意之前,我在奥地利攻读食品和生物技术,在苏格兰完成了蛋白质晶体学博士学业后,曾在一家研究中心担任过生物催化的高级科研人员兼项目经理。

Kerstin

 

现在我负责芬美意生物催化实验室的工作,致力于发现新酶和新方法用于生物合成天然香料和香精分子。

 

我痴迷于研究自然界的一切事物,以及如何在不破坏性开采的情况下加以利用。发现新酶和新反应令我感到兴奋,特别是如何让大多数生物催化反应具有可持续性。当看到在我的实验室中开发的分子生物技术路线投产和上市时,我就会更有动力。我总是很兴奋,迫不及待地想查看从实验得出的新数据,就像我们第一次将一种酶用于一种新分子时的那样。 

 

在芬美意,我将生物技术用于生产分子,使食品具有风味。我沉迷于这些课题的研究。我们的项目通常是跨学科的,不仅仅局限于不同的研究小组之间,还包括知识产权、法规以及风味和香氛部门。我们需要进行许多有趣而富有启发性的讨论,弄清从发现新分子或生产路线一直到上市和应用的整个过程。”

Kerstin的同事

 

认识一下其他像Kerstin这样的研究人员,了解他们如何致力于科研向善。

 

认识其他的芬美意科学家 认识其他的芬美意科学家
Placeholder
公司

Biotechnology

Meet Kerstin

"I‘m a biotechnologist, which means in my case using enzymes to do chemistry. Before arriving here, I studied food and biotechnology in Austria, did a postdoctorate in protein crystallography in Scotland and worked as a senior scientist and project manager in biocatalysis in a research centre. 

Kerstin

 

As a lab head in biocatalysis at Firmenich, I work on the discovery of new enzymes and methods for the biosynthesis of natural flavor and fragrance molecules.

 

I’m absolutely fascinated by all the things that nature can do, and how we can make use of it without exploiting and destroying it. I am driven by discovering new enzymes and new reactions, and particularly the sustainability of most of the biocatalytic reactions. It’s even more motivating when I see a biotechnological route for a molecule that was developed in my lab moving to production and market launch. I still get excited and cannot wait to see new data from an experiment, for example the first time we use an enzyme for a new molecule. 

 

At Firmenich I can apply biotechnology for the production of molecules which are used for food flavors, topics that have fascinated me since my studies. Our projects usually are interdisciplinary, not only between different research groups, but including IP, regulatory, and the Flavors and Perfumery divisions. We have so many interesting and inspiring discussions and gain the full picture, from the discovery of a new molecule or production routes all the way to market launch and application."

Meet Kerstin's colleagues

 

Meet other researchers like Kerstin and hear about their dedication to science for good.

 

Meet our other scientists
Placeholder
Company