生物学

Patrick

 

“当我在日内瓦完成感知信息素的学业时,听说芬美意的研发部门正在为更好地了解人类如何感知气味的新业务招募员工。几个月后,我启程去了纽约,加入了为基于受体的发现计划(Receptor-Based Discovery,RBD)奠定基础的研发小组。

Patrick

 

现在我领导这个小组筛选人类气味受体,生成数据,用于香氛优化。

 

在攻读博士学位期间,我就对嗅觉神经学非常感兴趣。RBD计划正巧给了我这样一个机会,让我全身心投入,将我所学到的知识应用到实际应用中。从一开始,感觉像是在为一家初创公司工作,所有人对这个项目都充满了热情、忘我投入、信心满满。营造了一个活力十足的氛围。也使我得以继续成长并成为一名更好的科研人员。

 

最令人激动的是能与研发团队中众多优秀的同事和才华横溢的科研人员一起共事。这样一个知识和人才库令许多实验室望洋兴叹。有了这样的多样性,很容易对当前面临的挑战以及解决这些挑战的最佳方法有一个整体观。我非常欣赏芬美意愿意为RBD这样的计划承担风险。从长远来看,这会营造出一个创新驱动型公司典型的富有激励性的工作环境。不仅如此,在这里工作让人非常有归属感,能为成为这家家族香精公司的一员,我感到骄傲。”

Patrick的同事

 

认识一下其他像Patrick这样的研究人员,了解他们如何致力于科研向善。

 

认识其他的芬美意科学家
Placeholder
公司

Biology

Meet Patrick

 

"When I finished my studies on the perception of pheromones in Geneva, I heard that Firmenich R&D was recruiting for a new venture to better understand how humans perceive smells. A few months and interviews later, I embarked on a one-way trip to New York and joined the small group that built the foundations of the Receptor-Based Discovery (RBD) program.

Patrick

 

I now lead the team responsible for screening human odorant receptors, generating data for perfume optimization.

 

I became passionate about the neuroscience of olfaction during my PhD. Working for the RBD program gave me the opportunity to engage in my passion and apply my knowledge to real world applications. From the start, it felt like working for a start-up given people’s enthusiasm, investment and belief in the project. That’s highly motivating. It also allowed me to keep growing and become a better scientist.

 

The most exciting part is the exposure to so many great colleagues and gifted scientists in our R&D community. There's a pool of knowledge and capabilities many labs can only dream of. With such diversity, you end up with a holistic view of the challenges at hand and the best shot at solving them. I really appreciate Firmenich’s commitment to take calculated risks like the RBD program. We can see the long-term vision and it creates the dynamic work environment typical of an innovation-driven company. There’s also a sense of belonging that reflects the fact that we work for a family-owned fragrance house."

Meet Patrick's colleagues

 

Meet other researchers like Patrick and hear about their dedication to science for good.

 

Meet our other scientists Meet our other scientists
Placeholder
company