受体生物学

重写香氛与食用风味的语言

对嗅觉和味觉受体科学的前沿研究成果为我们揭示了鼻子和舌头感知气味或味道的生物过程。 而且,我们正在使用所学的知识来重新定义香氛风味创造的语言。 我们的受体生物学计划旨在探索未来,钻研知识,为新一代香氛和风味解决方案提供支持,并最终为创香者和客户提供满意的结果。  

Placeholder

解决异味问题

我们与比尔及梅林达·盖茨基金会达成具有里程碑意义的合作,共同参与研究了面向低收入国家民众的异味抑制解决方案,在这些国家,异味可能成为安全卫生的障碍。 我们的多学科方法和独特专有知识帮助我们从最初的概念形成到有效解决方案的提出快速铺平了道路 -- 异味抑制产品可消除难闻的气味并鼓励人们使用安全卫生的厕所设施。 如今,采用我们的异味抑制技术,价格合理的清洁和除臭产品已在多个国家使用,可降低当地的疾病风险。

Placeholder

支持发现和创造

受体生物学为我们的化学家生物技术专家调香师调味师提供了宝贵的洞察信息,帮助他们了解香原料和配方如何对人类感官产生作用。 由于我们对所有了解的知识进行了记录和数字化处理,这些之前被认为难以捉摸的知识变得很容易分享,从而也大大激发了创造能力。 我们的创香者首次揭示了特定分子如何影响人类的感官,并调节对特定香氛或风味的感知。 我们的高通量筛选能力可加快发现新材料和开发新产品的速度。

Placeholder

支持健康

从最初关注香氛受体开始,我们的研究范围已扩大到如何提供领先的食用风味功能。 如今,我们正在分析受体行为如何支持更健康的风味解决方案:可减少热量摄入,同时保持良好味觉体验的天然甜味剂和甜味调节剂,或者可让儿童药物更容易入口的苦味阻断剂。

Placeholder

学习和充实

通过我们自己的工作以及与客户和研究机构(包括美国和中国的大学)的合作,每天都会有新发现。 尤其令我们感到兴奋的是,受体生物学可以进一步丰富我们对人工智能(AI)的应用——提供新的数据流,训练预测算法,推动我们的科学和创造产生巨大的飞跃。 从更深入的科学理解和更大胆的发现,到更大的数据和更好的产品,我们正在将受体生物学推向新的、有价值的方向。

Placeholder

材料科学

通过设计智能和可持续的香气释放系统,我们提升了香氛和食用风味背后的创造工艺。

查看更多
公司

RECEPTOR BIOLOGY

Rewriting the Language of Fragrance & Taste

Unique research at the leading edge of both olfactory and taste receptor science allows us to understand the biological processes in our nose and on our tongue that detect smell or flavor. And we are using what we learn to redefine the language of fragrance and flavor creation. Our receptor biology program explores the future, deepening our knowledge, enabling a new generation of perfume and flavor solutions and ultimately supporting better results for creators and customers.  

Placeholder

Addressing Malodor

Landmark collaboration with the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation engaged Firmenich’s scientists in finding ways of addressing malodor in low-income countries, where it can be a barrier to safe sanitation. Our multidisciplinary approach and unique knowhow paved the way for rapid progress from first concept to an effective solution – malodor products that can eliminate unpleasant smells and encourage people to use safe, hygienic toilet facilities. Today, affordable cleaning and deodorizing products with our malodor technology are in use in several countries where they can help reduce the risk of disease.

Placeholder

Supporting Discovery and Creation

Receptor biology supports our chemists, biotechnologists, perfumers and flavorists with valuable insight into how ingredients and formulations will react with the human senses. And because we are recording and digitizing all we learn, this previously tacit knowledge is easly shared and creative skills are amplified. For the first time, our creators understand how select molecules will impact on the human senses and modulate the perception of a specific fragrance or flavor. Our high-throughput screening capacity accelerates discovery and development.

Placeholder

Supporting Health

From an initial focus on fragrance receptors our scope has expanded to provide leading capabilities on taste. Today, we are analyzing ways receptor behavior can support healthier flavor solutions: natural sweeteners and sweetness modulators that help to reduce calorie intake while maintaining a great taste experience, or bitterness blockers that aim to make paediatric medicines more palatable.

Placeholder

Learning and Enriching

Every day brings new discovery, through our own work and via collaboration with customers and research institutes, including universities in the United States and China. We are particularly excited about the way receptor biology further enriches our use of Artificial Intelligence (AI) – providing a new data stream that will nourish predictive algorithms and provide a quantum leap for our science and creation.  From our commitment to better scientific understanding and bold discoveries to bigger data and better products, we are pushing receptor biology in new and rewarding directions.

Placeholder

Materials Science

By engineering smart and sustainable delivery systems, we heighten the creative craft behind our fragrances and flavors.

Read more
Company